The  Diagnostic Mycoplasma laboratory is certified by the College of American Pathologists, the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendment (ID# 01D0641554), and the State of Alabama (ID# L3737) as an independent diagnostic reference laboratory. We perform cultures, in vitro antimicrobial susceptibility testing, molecular organism identification, and molecular resistance marker detection, in addition to grant and contract work for federal and industry funded basic and translational research projects.


Name Position
Ken Waites, MD, F(AAM) Medical Director
Li Xiao, PhD Research and Development
Lynn Duffy, MT(ASCP) Microbiologist Consultant (30+ years experience)
Prescott Atkinson, MD, PhD Clinical Consultant, Pediatric Immunologist/ Mycoplasmologist
William Geisler, MD, MS Clinical Consultant, Adult Infectious Disease Clinician, STI expertise
Donna Crabb, MT (ASCP) Lab Manager (30+ years experience)
Amy Ratliff, MLS(ASCP) Lab Supervisor (15+ years experience)
Melanie Fecanin, MT (ASCP) Staff Technologist (10 years experience)