Current Lab members

Primary Investigator

Kristina Visscher, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Neurobiology


The work in my lab at UAB has integrated my previous work examining the neural basis of cognitive control (using functional magnetic resonance imaging, fMRI) and my work examining how sensory representations are influenced by context (using behavioral/psychophysics methods, as well as the neuroimaging methods EEG and fMRI). My research interest is to understand how cognitive control mechanisms affect sensory processing, and how this cognitive control is modified by experience.

Postdoctoral Scholars

Pinar Demirayak, Ph.D.

My research area focuses on the extent of brain plasticity in individuals with severe vision impairments. My recent work examines experience-based brain plasticity especially in older populations with low vision. By using MRI I investigate cortical activity following deafferentation from retinal input as well as cortical layer-specific dynamics of the visual system.

Graduate Students

Elam Cutts
GBS Program

Jason Vice
Vision Science Program


My research interest lies in understanding how experience influences the brain’s ability to compensate for vision loss through changes in eye movements and attention. Importantly, how this knowledge can be used to develop more effective training strategies in the clinical setting.

Research Assistants

Paul Stewart

Ishant Yadav

Undergraduate Research Assistants

Vuga Parpura

Saikrishna Sriraman


Rachel Chua

Previous Members

Wes Burge
Kelli Cannon
Christine Denning
Brody DeSilva
Abdurahman Elkhetali
Joe Griffis
Jarrod Hicks
Stephen Layfield
David Lee
Sarah McGhee
William Mitchell
Rodolphe Nenert
Megan O’Malley
Utkarsh Pandey
Sean Pool
Ryan Vaden
Jessica Wright
Mandy Biles
Matt Defenderfer
Leland Fleming
Sara Sims