Director Sameer Al Diffalha, MD
Dr. Al-Diffalha is an Associate Professor in the Anatomic Pathology Division of the UAB Department of Pathology. He is a board-certified surgical pathologist with specialty expertise and boards in gastrointestinal, liver and pancreas pathology. He has also completed surgical pathology fellowship in breast pathology. Dr. Al-Diffalha has experience in biobanking and received training in tissue sciences at the H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center. He has been working side by side with Dr. William Grizzle, former director of the UAB Tissue Biorepository, and the the Biorepository team since 2017 to provide pathology expertise for the Tissue Biorepository.
Co-Director Upender Manne, M.S, Ph.D
Dr. Manne is a Professor of Pathology and Director of the Translational Anatomic Pathology Section, Division of Anatomic Pathology. He has secondary appointments as a Professor in the UAB departments of Surgery and Epidemiology. Dr. Manne is a Senior Scientist of the O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center and a Senior Scientist of the UAB Minority Health Disparity Research Center. He has worked with Dr. William Grizzle, former director of the UAB Tissue Biorepository, in tissue sciences and for over a decade he worked with Dr. Grizzle for the Biomarker Reference Laboratory of the Early Detection Research Network of the National Cancer Institute. Dr. Manne is a leader in the field of cancer biomarker development research, translational pathology, tissue genomics, applied informatics, ethics in translational research, and cancer education and training. For more than 20 years, he has served as a Principal Investigator on several investigator-initiated R, P, and U series grants.
Associate Director Kathy Sexton, MBA.
Mrs. Sexton is the facility manager who has worked with this facility for more than three decades and will continue to work as Associate Director of the UAB-TBR. She, together with Drs. AL Diffalha and Manne and the procurement team, will coordinate all day-to-day activities of the UAB-TBR.


Laboratory Supervisor Patty Williams
Program Coordinator II Arianne Jones
Researcher I (Surgical Pathology) Alex Files
Researcher I (Surgical Pathology) Adi Dayana
Researcher I (Freezers) Uma Gupta
Researcher I (Clinical Trials) Susan Pruitt
Office Associate II Amanda Mitchell-Griffin